President’s Prize for Young Myologist of the Year

Eduardo Malfatti – A premature stop codon in MYO18B is associated with severe nemaline myopathy with cardiomyopathy

President’s Prize for Best First-Timer

Jean Seto - A gene for speed: the influence of ACTN3 on muscle performance in health and disease

Léa Rose Prize Spinal Muscular Atrophy Award

Haiyan Zhou  - Generation and rescue of intermediate SMA mice by slow-dose morpholino antisense oligomer

Duchenne Research Prize

Caroline Le Guiner - Adeno-associated virus vector (AAV) microdystrophin gene therapy prolongs survival and restores muscle function in the canine model of Duchenne muscular dystrophy (DMD)

Elsevier Prizes for best Oral or Poster Presentations

Belinda Cowling - Reducing dynamin 2 rescues a severe congenital myopathy in mice

Maaike van Putten - Natural history study of mouse models for limb girdle muscular dystrophy, types 2D and 2F

Robert Bryson-Richardson - Investigating the pathobiology of myofibrillar myopathies and potential therapies using zebrafish

Payam Mohassel - Col6A2 null mice are a new mouse model of collagen-VI related dystrophies and relevant to the human disease

A. Reghan Foley - GGPS1 mutations cause a unique childhood-onset muscular dystrophy associated with sensorineural deafness and primary ovarian failure in females

Dimuthu Wasgewatte Wijesinghe - Investigation of the sources of osteopontin required for normal regeneration of injured muscle

Elsevier Runners-up Subscription Prizes

Louiza Arouche Delaperche – Effects of auto-antibodies anti-signal recognition particle (SRP) and hydroxymethylglutaryl-CoA reductase (HMGCR) on muscle cells   

Rainiero Avila-Polo – Highly variable skeletal muscle histo-immunocytochemical and ultrastructural features in titin-related myopathies   

Alison Barnard – Genetic polymorphisms modify intramuscular fat infiltration in Duchenne muscular dystrophy

Raphael Boursereau – New targets to control skeletal muscle inflammation: MicroRNAs regulated by adiponectin

Astrid Emilie Buch - High intensity training in patients with facioscapulohumeral muscular dystrophy

Anna Maria Lara Coenen-Stass – Identification of novel therapy-responsive protein biomarkers for Duchenne muscular dystrophy by aptamer-based serum proteomics

Anni Evilä – Targeted next-generation sequencing reveals novel TTN mutations causing recessive distal titinopathy

Hernan Gonorazky – Filling in the gap between exome and genome: mRNA analysis as a clinical diagnosis tool

Akihiko Ishiyama - Mutations in iron-sulfur cluster assembly gene IBA57 cause progressive cavitating leukoencephalopathy

Kosuke Kohashi – Early scoliosis surgery may prevent deterioration of respiratory function in Ullrich congenital muscular dystrophy

Jenni Laitila – Functional assessment of nebulin missense variants   

Carmen Paradas Lopez – Quantifiable diagnosis of neuromuscular diseases through network analysis

Valeria Ricotti – Outcome measures for Duchenne muscular dystrophy from ambulant to non-ambulant: Implications for clinical trials

Jachinta Rooney - Late-onset mild myopathy with protein aggregates in two transgenic mouse models of FHL1

Sandra Sandaradura – Recessive TNNT3 splice variants are associated with severe nemaline myopathy with distal arthrogryposis

Nozumo Tawara – A single center analysis of the clinicopathological findings of anti-cytosolic 5’-nucleotidase 1a antibody-positive sporadic inclusion body myositis

Mariana Voos – Effects of a program based on home exercise on muscle force and functional independence in patients with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis: A 2-year follow-up study

Nicholas Whitehead - Simvastatin improves physiological function and protects against muscle degeneration in mdx mice: A novel therapeutic approach for Duchenne muscular dystrophy

Michele Yang – Elucidation of the mechanism of disease in DYNC1H1-associated motor neuron disease and potential therapeutic targets

Irina Zaharieva – Recessive loss-of-function SCN4A mutations associated with a novel phenotype of congenital myopathy

Published on 31 October 2015.


29 Nov 2023 Prize Winners - WMS Congress 2023

20 Oct 2022 Prize Winners – WMS Congress, 2022

04 Oct 2021 Prizewinners, WMS-26 Congress, Virtual, 2021

WMS Twitter Feed
WMS Facebook Feed